20 Most Anticipated YA Books of 2020 (So Far)

Hi everyone!

Since it’s June, I figured it’d be a good time to reveal the 20 YA books of 2020 that I’m most excited about.

I’ve included release dates when available and Goodreads links for all (so you can check out the descriptions & go add them to your TBRs)!

So without further ado and in order of release date (or at least what’s been declared to be the release date), here are The Spork Review’s Top 20 Most Anticipated YA Books of 2020 (so far):

One of Us is Next by Karen McManus – January 7, 2020 – The sequel to the 2017 hit, One of Us Is Lying. I can’t WAIT to go back to Bayview High.

How to Speak Boy by Tiana Smith – January 7, 2020 – This was pitched as a YA You’ve Got Mail (which is one of my FAVORITE movies ever, but that’s a whole other blog post) so of COURSE I’m hella excited about it.

Tweet Cute by Emma Lord – January 21, 2020 – I’m so down for ‘anonymous online enemy turns out to be RL friend’ vibe that’s happening here.

The Fell of Dark by Caleb Roehrig – January 28, 2020 – CUTE VAMPIRE BOYS WITH A MYSTERY THROWN IN, YAAAAAAAAASSSS.

Don’t Read the Comments by Eric Smith – January 28, 2020 –  Eric writes such great, strong female characters, and since his MC is a badass gamer girl fighting against online trolls I’m doubly excited.

Together We Caught Fire by Eva V. Gibson – February 4, 2020 – Forbidden romance, angst, and even a love triangle (which when done properly and actually ADDS to the story, as it seems to do here, doesn’t aggravate me) make this a very interesting-sounding read.

The Gravity of Us by Phil Stamper – February 4, 2020 – First love among a space mission to Mars? Yes please. (Note: My colleague at work is going to the ALA Annual conference in DC this week and is going to try to get me an ARC. Fingers crossed!)

UPDATE: ARC ACQUIRED!!! *Insert heart-eye emoji*

Every Reason We Shouldn’t by Sara Fujimara – March 3, 2020 – I FREAKING LOVE FIGURE SKATING. GIMMIE MORE YA FIGURE SKATING BOOKS. (Which reminds me, I probably should start watching Yuri!!! On ICE.)

What I Like About You by Marisa Kanter  – April 7, 2020 – I’m so in love with the ‘anonymous online friend turns out to be RL friend’ plotline. I NEED THIS NOW. (PS: 3 books on my most-anticipated list release on the same day. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MEEEEEE.)

The Best Laid Plans by Cameron Lund – April 7, 2020 – AWWW YIIISSS This is going to be friends-to-lovers, plus it’s described as a ‘sex-positive, feminist rom-com’ so I’m all in.

Meet Me at Midnight by Jessica Pennington – April 7, 2020 – I love, love, LOVE enemies to lovers. Come on, April!

More than Maybe by Erin Hahn May 12, 2020 – It’s by the author of You’d Be Mine. ‘Nuff said. (Also may this also serve as a reminder plea that I WOULD LOVE AN ARC WHEN THEY’RE AVAILABLE EVEN THOUGH I’M PRE-ORDERING THE SECOND IT’S LIVE, PLEASE AND THANK YOU)

Surrender Your Sons by Adam Sass – September 18, 2020 – Gay teen gets sent to ‘conversion camp’ and he and the other LGBTQ+ teens plot to uncover the camp’s ‘dark secrets’. Reminds me of ‘But I’m a Cheerleader’, but I have a feeling it’s just going to make me angry on these kids’ behalf.

Adeline’s Aria by Laynie Bynum (No release date given) – YA books with famous people are my crack. Plus it states “Fans of GEEKERELLA and YOU’D BE MINE will love this Young Adult Rockstar Romance”, so umm… YES, JUST SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY ALREADY. Geekerella is one of my faves because not only was it a famous-person-falls-for-a-normal-person YA, but it also had so many other things I was there for, and if you’ve read my blog before, you know I absolutely LOVE You’d Be Mine, which so far has been my top read of 2019.

Vampires Never Get Old – edited by Zoraida Cordova & Natalie C. Parker (No release date given) – I am so down for the resurgence of vampire YA fiction. Plus this is an anthology that includes many of my faves, so gimmie gimmie.

I’ll Be the One by Lyla Lee (No release date given) – Hell yes, body-positivity! Plus there’s famous people!

Those Who Prey by Jennifer Moffett (No release date given) – COLLEGE SECRET SOCIETIES. My heart is racing already.

I Hope You’re Listening by Tom Ryan (No release date given) – A teen launches a podcast in order to anonymously solve missing persons cases but then figures out that a new case is linked to the disappearance of her friend from ten years ago. YES. 

Meet Me Halfway by Tom Ryan & Robin Stevenson (No release date given) FAMILY ROAD TRIP TO PRIDE. That’s all I need to hear. 

Who I was with Her by Nita Tyndall (No release date given) – Closeted bisexual teen loses her secret girlfriend in a car accident. This is going to make me cry, I just know it. 

BONUS 21st Book: Darling by K. Ancrum (No release date given) – Wendy Darling hangs with Peter Pan and the Lost Boys in modern-day Chicago, but it seems like Peter isn’t a good guy in this one? … It’s the Peter Pan retelling I never knew I needed.

So that’s it! Obviously I have certain tropes and genres I like, but are there any 2020 YA releases you’re waiting on? Sound off in the comments!

Author: thesporkreview

Lover of books, movies, music, and all things sporktastic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s